Committee on Foreign Affairs (AFET) – Member

Committee responsible for the promotion, implementation and monitoring of the Union’s foreign policy as regards:

  1. The common foreign and security policy (CFSP) and the common security and defence policy (CSDP). In this context the committee is assisted by a subcommittee on security and defence;
  2. Relations with other Union institutions and bodies, the UNO and other international organizations and interparliamentary assemblies for matters falling under its responsibility;
  3. Oversight of the European External Action Service;
  4. The strengthening of political relations with third countries by means of comprehensive cooperation and assistance programmes or international agreements such as association and partnership agreement;
  5. The opening, monitoring and concluding of negotiations concerning the accession of European States to the Union;
  6. All legislation, programming and scrutiny of actions carried out under the European Instrument for Democracy and Human Rights, the European Neighbourhood Instrument, the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance, the Instrument contributing to Stability and Peace and the Partnership Instrument for cooperation with third countries, and the policies underpinning them;
  7. The monitoring and follow-up of, inter alia, the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP), in particular with regard to ENP Annual Progress Reports;
  8. Issues concerning democracy, the rule of law, human rights, including the rights of minorities, in third countries and the principles of international law. In this context the committee is assisted by a subcommittee on human rights, which should ensure coherence between all the Union’s external policies and its human rights policy. Without prejudice to the relevant rules, members from other committees and bodies with responsibilities in this field shall be invited to attend the meetings of the subcommittee;
  9. Parliament’s involvement in election observation missions, where appropriate in cooperation with other relevant committees and delegations;

Committee on Transport and Tourism (TRAN) – Substitute Member

The Committee is responsible for:

  1. Matters relating to the development of a common policy for rail, road, inland waterway, maritime and air transport, in particular:
    • common rules applicable to transport within the European Union;
    • the establishment and development of trans-European networks in the area of transport infrastructure;
    • the provision of transport services and relations in the field of transport with third countries;
    • transport safety;
    • relations with international transport bodies and organisations;
    • the European Maritime Safety Agency, the European Railway Agency, the European Aviation Safety Agency and the SESAR Joint Undertaking;
  1. Postal services;
  2.  Tourism.

Committee on Legal Affairs (JURI) – Substitute Member

Committee responsible for:

  1. The interpretation, application and monitoring of Union law and compliance of Union acts with primary law, notably the choice of legal bases and respect for the principles of subsidiarity and proportionality;
  2. The interpretation and application of international law, in so far as the European Union is affected;
  3. Better law-making and the simplification of Union law;
  4. The legal protection of Parliament’s rights and prerogatives, including its involvement in actions before the Court of Justice of the European Union;
  5. Union acts which affect the Member States’ legal order, namely in the fields of:
    • civil and commercial law,
    • company law,
    • intellectual property law,
    • procedural law;
  6. Measures concerning judicial and administrative cooperation in civil matters;
  7. Environmental liability and sanctions against environmental crime;
  8. Ethical questions related to new technologies, applying the associated committee procedure with the relevant committees;
  9. The Statute for Members and the Staff Regulations of the European Union;
  10. Privileges and immunises as well as verification of Members’ credentials;
  11. The organisation and statute of the Court of Justice of the European Union;
  12. The European Union Intellectual Property Office.

Тази публикация е достъпна и на следните езици: Bulgarian